The Ministry of Justice was established with the Western Region of Nigeria Gazette No. 43, Vol.3 dated 7th October, 1954. Ministry of Justice headed by the Honourable Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice could be regarded as the third arm of government charged with the responsibilities of Interpreting the Law, adjudication and proving  legal  advisory services to the Executive, Legislature and Public. However, for ease of administration and effectiveness, the Ministry was decentralized into Eleven Departments and headed by Eleven Directors while, the Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary is the overall Administrator and Chief accounting officer of the Ministry.